Our shared past and present: a faculty statement of support

In 1873, Drury was founded by Congregationalists, many of whom were abolitionists, to “help heal the wounds of the Civil War” and provide a strong academic education in ttreehe liberal arts. Springfield, Missouri was chosen, in part, as it was an area that had been so scarred by the war; it was a place in need of continued healing. The university’s founders envisioned an institution that would offer students, including women, Native Americans, and those “of slender purse,” a strong liberal arts education, and they turned to prominent liberal arts schools in the north and east for their models. The earliest classes included Native Americans and women, and the first graduating class—of five—consisted entirely of women.

Our nation is again in a divided moment, with greater fear and anger across the entire community than we have seen in recent memory. We hear of incidents on campuses across the nation in which students are made to feel unwelcome, threatened with violence, or even physically harmed.

We Drury faculty*, who fall across the political spectrum, care deeply about supporting an open and democratic society, freedom of speech, strong civil liberties, and welcoming diversity. We would like our students and colleagues to know that if they feel vulnerable, we are here to support you. We stand by you today and in the years ahead.


Angie Adamick

Jeanie Allen

Marshall Arne

David Beach

Leah Blakey

Cathy Blunk

Katherine Bohnenkamper

Stephen Bomgardner

Greg Booker

Sergey Borodich

Jana Bufkin

Peter Browning

Bruce Callen

Kathy Carroll

Julie Cassity

Nancy Chikaraishi

Hue-ping Chin

Tina Claussen

Penny Clayton

Asikaa Cosgrove

Tiffany Cossey

James Davidson

Gary DeBauche

Don Deeds

Rebecca Denton

David Derossett

Valerie Eastman

Laurie Edmondson

Jay Garrott

Katherine Gilbert

David Goldberg

Jonathan Groves

Kevin Henderson

Rachael Herrington

Brant Hinrichs

Teresa Hornsby

Yong Huang

Charlyn Ingwerson

Erin Kenny

Christopher Koch

Justin Leinaweaver

Panos Leventis

Jennie Long

Todd Lowery

Vickie Luttrell

Rick Maxson

Shannon McMurtrey

Peter Meidlinger

Rebecca Miller

Robin Miller

Bruce Moore

Patrick Moser

Earline Moulder

Steve Mullins

Elizabeth Gackstetter Nichols

Kelley Still Nichols

Elizabeth Paddock

Chris Panza

Dan Ponder

Ioana Popescu

Jack Powers

Morgan Presley

Janis Prewitt

Tim Robbins

Tom Russo

Maurizio Sabini

Rich Schur

Carlyle Sharpe

Scott Sigman

Jennifer Silva Brown

James Simmerman

Jarrod Smith

Tony Smith

Mick Sokol

Traci Sooter

Allin Sorenson

Karen Spence

Robin Sronce

Phillip Stepp

Bonnie Tabor

Charles Taylor

Jacqueline Tygart

Mary Utley

Jo Van Arkel

Jeff VanDenBerg

Jackie Warren

Regina Waters

Don Weber

Bob Weddle

Saundra Weddle

Blaine Whisenhunt

Kris Wiley

Edward Williamson

Natalie Wlodarczyk

Shelley Wolbrink

*Due to time constraints, not all faculty members may have had a chance to sign this letter. If you are a Drury faculty member who would like to add your name now, you may do so by emailing kgilbert@drury.edu.